MAX IV Machine Advisory Committee – MAC

The MAX IV Machine Advisory Committee (MAC) supervises and follows the commissioning, operation and upgrades of the accelerators at the MAX IV facility.

The MAC provides advice to the MAX IV Management on the following systems:

  • the injector linac including the electron source and bunch compressors;
  • the 3 GeV storage ring;
  • the 1.5 GeV storage ring;
  • the insertion devices and their impact on the storage rings

The MAC provides advice to the MAX IV Management regarding the following issues:

  • transition into user operations;
  • mid- and long-term planning for improvements and upgrades to the MAX IV accelerators;
  • necessary investments in the accelerator infrastructure

Current MAC members are:

Søren Pape Møller (Chair), Director ISA, Aarhus University, Denmark
Montse Pont, ALBA Synchrotron, Spain
Qing Qin, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Lenny Rivkin, PSI, Swiss Light Source, Switzerland
Timur Shaftan, Brookhaven National Laboratory, US
Richard Walker, Diamond Light Source, UK

Committee members are appointed by the MAX IV Laboratory Board for a 3-year term with the possibility of extension. The MAC Chair is invited once a year to present the committee’s findings at one of the Board meetings.


MAX IV Scientific Advisory Committee – SAC

The MAX IV Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) gives advice to the MAX IV Management on the operation and future development of MAX IV Laboratory, and in particular on:

  • the scientific programme for MAX IV Laboratory;
  • the construction of beamlines at MAX IV Laboratory and their priorities;
  • necessary investments in scientific infrastructure and staff at MAX IV Laboratory


In addition, the committee also contributes to reviews of MAX IV beamline designs and scientific programmes.

Current SAC members are:

Anne Borg (Chair), Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Inger Andersson, Uppsala University, Sweden
Elke Arenholz, Cornell University, US
Ana Diaz, Paul Scherrer Institut/SLS, Switzerland
Mats Fahlman, Linköping University, Sweden
Georg Held, University of Reading and Diamond Light Source, UK
Simo Huotari, University of Helsinki, Finland
Steve Johnson, ETH Zurich and Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland
Satish C. Myneni, Princeton University, US
Eva Olsson, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Arwen Pearson, Universität Hamburg, Germany
Eva Pereiro, ALBA Synchrotron, Spain

Committee members are appointed by the MAX IV Laboratory Board for a 3-year term and may be reappointed once. The SAC meets twice a year. Once a year, the SAC Chair is given the opportunity to present the committee’s findings at one of the Board meetings.


MAX IV Programme Advisory Committee – PAC

MAX IV Laboratory issues regular calls for proposals for experiment time at the beamlines – beamtime –  through an open procedure.

To assist in the allocation of beamtime, a MAX IV Programme Advisory Committee (PAC) is appointed. The committee reviews and evaluates submitted proposals and provides recommendations for the allocation of beamtime, based on the scientific excellence and feasibility of the suggested experiments.

Current PAC members are:

Structural biology:

Ehmke Pohl (Chair), Durham University, UK
John McGeehan, University of Portsmouth, UK
Ralf Ficner, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany

Nano science:

Claire Donnelly, University of Cambridge, UK (from 2020)
David Le Bolloc’h, Université Paris Sud, France
Gema Martínez Criado, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, Spain
Geoff Thornton, University College London, UK
Grace Burke, University of Manchester, UK
Imke Greving, Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany
Laszlo Vincze (Chair), Ghent University, Belgium
Oliver Bunk, Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI), Switzerland

Spectroscopy & Spectromicroscopy (incl. sub-committees):

Aleksei Kotlov, DESY, Germany
Andries Meijerink, Utrecht University, Netherlands
Anja Olafsen Sjåstad, University of Oslo, Norway (from 2020)
Carla Bittencourt, University of Mons, Belgium
Charlotte Sanders, UKRI STFC, UK
Christoph Tegenkamp, TU Chemnitz, Germany
David Mueller, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
Edwin Kukk, University of Turku, Finland
Emma Sokell, University College Dublin, Ireland
Enrique Ortega, University of the Basque Country, Spain
Jan Hugo Dil, EPFL, Switzerland
Jean-Jacques Gallet, Sorbonne Université – CNRS – LCPMR Paris, France
Jeppe Vang Lauritsen, Aarhus University, Denmark (from 2020)
Jill Miwa, Aarhus University, Denmark
Phil Woodruff, University of Warwick, UK
Philip King, University of St Andrews, UK
Stefan Schweizer, South Westphalia University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Tobias Lau (Chair, LDM), University of Freiburg, Germany
Ulrich Starke (Chair, Surface), MPI FKF, Germany
Virginia Perez Dieste (Chair, APXPS), ALBA Synchrotron Light Source, Spain
Wendy Flavell, University of Manchester, UK


Anna M. Puig Molina, Haldor Topsøe, Lyngby, Denmark
Bruce Ravel, NIST, US
Graham George (Chair), University of Saskatchewan, Canada
György Vankó, Wigner Research Centre for Physics, Hungary
Jeroen Anton van Bokhoven, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Serena DeBeer, MPI CEC, Germany


MAX IV University Reference Group – URG

The MAX IV University Reference Group (URG) was established to assist in creating an active and mutually beneficial collaboration with universities that have strong involvement and interest in MAX IV Laboratory. The MAX IV URG, consulted by MAX IV Management, acts as a forum to coordinate the laboratory’s strategic planning and development, where these concern the URG member universities. The URG has an important role in the dissemination of MAX IV related information within the universities.

The URG is consulted specifically in issues related to MAX IV’s scientific programme and strategy, beamlines and other large instrumentation being considered for construction at MAX IV, training and education at MAX IV including the universities’ role in this area, formal collaborations between universities and MAX IV, scientific access to MAX IV, and outreach efforts involving university – MAX IV collaborations.

The MAX IV Laboratory Board decides on the member universities, or consortia of universities, of the URG, following recommendations from the MAX IV Director. Each URG member university/consortium of universities can nominate 2 members to the URG, one representing the University Management, one representing the university’s scientific interests in MAX IV.

The URG meets at least twice a year with MAX IV Management. Once a year, the URG Chair is invited to report to the MAX IV Laboratory Board.

Current URG members are:

Kristina Edström, Olle Björneholm (Chair) – Uppsala University
Maria Abrahamsson, Per-Anders Carlsson – Chalmers University of Technology
Göran Hilmersson, Gisela Brändén – University of Gothenburg
Kjell Magnusson, Lars Johansson – Karlstad University
Luca Jovine – Karolinska Institutet
Mikael Östling, Oscar Tjernberg – KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Per Dannetun, Jens Birch – Linköping University
Pär Weihed, Mikael Sjödahl – Luleå University of Technology
Stacey Sörensen, Martin Bech – Lund University
Thomas Arnebrant, Lindsay Richard Merte – Malmö University
Anders Karlhede, Martin Högbom – Stockholm University
Maria Knutson Wedel, Ramune Kuktaite – Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
Katrine Riklund, Alexandr Talyzin – Umeå University