The Director of MAX IV Laboratory is responsible for the operational management of the laboratory and for the reporting to the Board.


The laboratory is divided into three main divisions

  • Accelerators, headed by an Accelerator Director
  • Science, headed by a Physical Sciences Director and a Life Sciences Director
  • Administration, headed by an Administrative Director.

Management team

The MAX IV Director and four division directors constitute the Management Team of the laboratory:

Olof Karis, Acting MAX IV Director
Pedro Fernandes Tavares, Accelerator Director
Aymeric Robert, Physical Sciences Director
Marjolein Thunnissen, Life Sciences Director
Katarina Jacobsson, Administrative Director (on leave)
Caroline Runéus, Administrative Director (substitute)

The MAX IV Laboratory Director is recruited and appointed by the MAX IV Laboratory Board.

The appointment of other members of the MAX IV Laboratory Management Team is approved by the Board.
The Board approves the job description for each Management Team member.

Page manager: Communication January 31, 2023