Föreningen för Användare av Synkrotronljuset vid MAX IV (FASM)

The Association for Synchrotron Radiation Users at MAX IV

All active users of the former MAX-lab and the new MAX IV facility are regarded as members, and all scientists with an interest in synchrotron light based research are welcome to be members.

FASM aims to have fast and efficient communication with the MAX IV management to improve the working conditions and the quality of the experiments at the new MAX IV facility. Members of FASM are therefore welcome to communicate current and future needs with the FASM board. At the same time FASM disseminates information to the members about the plans and prospects within the MAX IV organisation.

FASMs mission is increasingly important as the user community is growing rapidly and more scientific disciplines are represented as users at MAX IV. In view of this FASM will introduce a number of proposals aimed to strengthen the activities within the MAX IV organisation and be of further aid to new users.

Becoming a member

Scientists interested in becoming members of the association for Synchrotron Radiation Users at MAX IV should contact:

Jonas Weissenrieder, Chair of FASM
Department of Applied Physics, KTH Royal Institute of Technology


The FASM board, elected 26 September 2018, consists of:

  • Jonas Weissenrieder, Chair of FASM, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
    Research interest involves processes related to heterogeneous catalysis and/or ultrafast dynamics. Mainly involved in the HIPPIE beamline at MAX IV, but also interested in the development of SPECIES, FLEXPES, and Bloch.
  • Maria Hahlin, Uppsala University
    Maria Hahlins research at the division of Molecular and Condensed Matter Physics at the department of Physics and Astronomy, Uppsala University focuses on the chemical reactions that are involved in the conversion between chemical end electrical energy in Li-ion batteries. She uses and develops x-ray based spectroscopy to follow and characterize the functional interphases between the battery electrode and electrolyte that are important for safety and long-term stable batteries. She is particularly involved with the SPECIES and HIPPIE beamlines, developing operando x-ray spectroscopy.
  • Leila Lo Leggio, Copenhagen University
    Leila Lo Leggio is a professor of biostructural chemistry at the University of Copenhagen. Her research focuses on the structure and function of enzymes and transcription factors, and the interaction of proteins with other macromolecules, primarily other proteins, DNA and complex polysaccharides. A main focus area is enzymes which have potential in improving waste biomass exploitation eg from agricultural waste. She is primarily a user of biological crystallography and small angle scattering beamlines. Specifically, at MAX IV she is a current user of the BioMAX beamline and potential user of Balder and CoSAXS.
  • German Salazar Alvarez, Uppsala University
    German Salazar-Alvarez, works with functional nanomaterials including inorganic nanoparticles, carbon-based and cellulose-based nanomaterials with well-defined shapes and sizes. The emphasis of the work is in tailoring specific properties, e.g., magnetism, ion transport, etc. through careful control of the preparation methods. The main techniques used in the work are diffraction and small-angle scattering.
  • Jonas Sellberg, KTH Royal Technical Institute
    Research interests include ultrafast dynamics at surfaces and/or in soft matter, studied mostly through coherent scattering techniques. Mainly interested in the FemtoMAX, NanoMAX, SoftiMAX, CoSAXS and BioMAX beamlines at MAX IV.
  • Rainer Timm, Lund University
    Rainer’s research focuses on the characterization of semiconductor nanostructures. His main interest belongs to the structure and modification of surfaces, which he investigates at the HIPPIE and MAXPEEM beamlines, and hopefully soon also at SPECIES, FLEXPES, and BLOCH. In addition, he is involved in studies on strain and atomic structure characterization of nanostructure devices at NanoMAX
  • Minna Patanen, University of Oulu
    I got my PhD degree in physics in 2010 from the University of Oulu. My topic was “Electron spectroscopic studies of the electronic structure of some metal atoms and alkali halide molecules”, and during my PhD work I used I411 and I3 beamlines at MMAX-lab After my PhD, I worked as a postdoc and a beamline scientist at Synchrotron SOLEIL (France), focusing on photoelectron and -absorption studies of gas-phase clusters and nanoparticles. From September 2015 I have worked in Nano and molecular systems research unit at the University of Oulu, currently as an Academy of Finland Research Fellow. I am an active user of several synchrotron radiation facilities such as SOLEIL, MAX IV and UVSOR III, and I mostly use soft X-ray excited spectroscopies and imaging to study samples from gas-phase molecules to biomaterials. My research profile: http://www.oulu.fi/university/researcher/minna-patanen


Former Chairmen of FASM

  • 1985 – 1988: Per-Olof Nilsson, Chalmers University of Technology
  • 1988 – 1994: Ulf Karlsson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • 1994 – 2000: Svante Svensson, Uppsala University
  • 2000 – 2004: Jan-Erik Rubensson, Uppsala University
  • 2004 – 2007: Mats Fahlman, Linköping University
  • 2007 – 2013: Ingmar Persson, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
  • 2013 – 2017: Raimund Feifel, University of Gothenburg
  • 2017 – 2018: Ingmar Persson, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences