The Director of MAX IV Laboratory is responsible for the operational management of the laboratory and for the reporting to the Board.

The laboratory is divided into three main divisions; Accelerators, Science and Administration, headed by an Accelerator Director, Physical Sciences Director, Life Sciences Director and Administrative Director.

The five Directors constitute the Management Team of the laboratory:

Ian McNulty, Director (interim)
Pedro Fernandes Tavares, Accelerator Director
Ian McNulty, Physical Sciences Director
Marjolein Thunnissen, Life Sciences Director
Katarina Jacobsson, Administrative Director

The MAX IV Laboratory Director is recruited and appointed by the MAX IV Laboratory Board.
The appointment of other members of the MAX IV Laboratory Management Team is approved by the Board.
The Board approves the job description for each Management Team member.
Delegations to Management Team members are approved by the Board.